Bug 1913

Git: Doing a "Git Revert" is resetting the files marked with the command "git update-index --skip-worktree" 15 October, 2020

François Bitran
22 November, 2018
Product: PowerBuilder Category: PowerBuilder IDE
Version: 2017 R3 Build:
Classification: Appeon bug Publishing: Public
Priority: P3
Status: Scheduling Reason:
Tom Jiang @Appeon 15 October, 2020
#3
Test DLL

Hi François,

We've fixed this issue in our code and would like to invite you to verify if it resolves the issue on your side. 

You can download and insall the 2019 R3 Beta release from https://account.appeon.com/download

After that please replace the files in C:\Program Files (x86)\Appeon\PowerBuilder 19.0\IDE with the attached ones.

We would really appreciate if you could give us your feedback on this issue and if everything works well, it will be included in the coming 2019 R3 GA release.  

Regards,

Tom Jiang
Tom Jiang @Appeon 26 November, 2018
#2
Hi François,

Thanks for reporting the issue with great details! We can reproduce on our side and will further study for a solution. We will update you when there is any progress. 

The issue where implicit merges may causing uploading of PBLs has been reported by another ticket and we are fixing it. 

Currently, you may removing the PBLs from the source control but keeping a set of unversioned copy in your working directory to workaround the issue.

Regards,

Tom Jiang
Chris Pollach @Appeon 23 November, 2018
#1
Hi Francois;

   Thank you for the great detailed steps on how to reproduce this issue. We'll try and replicate this situation on our side and then get back to you ASAP with our findings.

Regards ... Chris
François Bitran 22 November, 2018
*Phenomenon:
We have a workspace with several (around 70) targets in git, with a bitbucket remote repository. We work without branches (as it's anyway not supported directly by PB2017R3) so we regularly do some push-pull to move changes into the repository (with therefore often implicit merges).
We've seen that those merges upload pbls to the repository, which sounds bad (is it on purpose? I though pbls where supposed to be uploaded only once).
To avoid that, and also avoid messing the current target for the devs, we do this at the initial local git setup (after the Connect to workspace):
git update-index --skip-worktree **/*.pbl
git update-index --skip-worktree workspace.pbw

However, when we do a "Git Revert", all the files that were tagged by those commands are "untagged", which is annoying.
Doing a Revert via for example Tortoise works as expected and does not have such a side effect.

*Reproduce Steps:
Create a dummy workspace with a dummy app, add those to git locally.
Execute the two commands to set the pbls & pbw as "--skip-worktree", do "git ls-files -v . | grep ^S" to check those files are now in "--skip-worktree" mode, change a object in a pbl, save it, and do the revert.
Then do again "git ls-files -v . | grep ^S" and you should see that the files listed before are not listed anymore.

Remark:
OS:
Windows 10
Platform:
Database Type:
Database Version: